Food safety in packaging adhesives

Intercol is an adhesive manufacturer of many adhesives used in the food industry. In the packaging adhesive manufacturing world, we meet our customers' food quality requirements, some of the hot melt adhesives we supply are - BRC certified.

More and more retailers and food packaging providers are demanding third-party certification from their suppliers.

The BRC standard supports the integrity of our range of polyolefin hot melt adhesives and has the benefit of being manufactured to a food hygiene standard.

BRC Global Standard for Food Certification

  • Promote best practices
  • Improving supplier standards and consistency and avoiding product defects
  • Elimination of multiple audits by food manufacturers
  • Supporting retail goals at all levels of the manufacturing supply chain
  • Providing concise information to support due diligence

EC / 1935/2004 and 2023/2006 / EC (GMP)

Intercol's special range of food packaging adhesives can be safely used to manufacture food packaging materials in accordance with EU food safety regulations.

Intercol hereby declares that we can supply food packaging adhesives that are manufactured in accordance with the framework law EC / 1935/2004, including 2023/2006 / EC (GMP) and all its amendments.

10/2011 / EG, the so-called Plastics Implementation Measure (PIM)

Intercol's specific range of adhesives for food packaging is only formulated with ingredients that comply with 10/2011 / EC, the so-called Plastics Implementation Measure (PIM) or the BfR XIV or XXXVI regulations. Intercol is following the changes and all additions to these regulations to ensure this.

BfR XIV or XXXVI

Worst-case scenario calculations show that the specific migration limit values (PIM) and threshold values (BfR) are not exceeded if these special food packaging adhesives are used in the production of food packaging under the intended conditions of use.

Intercol's food-safe packaging adhesives are based on homopolymer and copolymer dispersions based on vinyl acetate with <1000 ppm residual free vinyl acetate. The specific migration limit for vinyl acetate monomer in packaging made with these adhesives is 12 mg / kg.

In addition to the regulations for food contact materials, Intercol complies with REACH and SVHC regulations. No questionable components or even SVHC, no harmful or non-food contact substances of any kind are used in Intercol's range of packaging adhesives.

Intercol's food packaging adhesives can be used safely in the packaging of food materials. It is the responsibility of the processor to ensure that the finished item complies with food safety regulations.

Careful selection of food-safe raw materials

Our range of polyolefin hot melt adhesives, which are manufactured using high-quality raw materials and state-of-the-art production processes, offer a level of performance that surpasses all other packaging adhesive products. Our hot melt adhesives also offer exceptional versatility and can be used with almost all packaging machines. They provide secure adhesion to some of the most difficult surfaces to bond, including metallized polyester materials, PP coated, PET laminated, varnished, and high density paperboard. But hotmelts are pearly white, do not smoke and are practically odorless. These properties provide manufacturers with unique hot melt adhesive solutions that can be used for a wide variety of packaging formats and for the most delicate and absorbent foods or pharmaceuticals.


Optimized adhesive formulations

Our range of hot melt adhesives has been formulated to take packaging adhesive performance to a new level. Technically advanced and exceptionally versatile, Intercol's hot melt adhesives can be used in packaging with most machines, materials and package formats.

We also manufacture hot melt adhesives specifically designed for use in the most demanding applications in the areas of folding carton making, carton sealing, and tray forming. In addition, Intercol understands the need to ensure that healthcare and pharmaceutical packaging must be secure and tamper-evident, and supplies adhesives that offer exceptional package construction and seal strength.

Declaration of Conformity for Adhesives


Adhesives are mixtures. All materials used and other supplied substances or, in the case of polymers, the corresponding monomers have been registered. Intercol BV hereby declares that we meet Downstream User Commitments (EC) 1907/2006 for all of our adhesives. All of our adhesives manufactured and sold by Intercol comply with current European legislation, including its amendments and appendices. All of our adhesives meet these:

  • REACh, (EG) 1907/2006.
  • CLP, (EC) 1272/2008.
  • RoHS, (EG) 2011/65.
  • PPW, (EC) 94/62.
  • BPR, (EU) 528/2012.
  • GMO, (EG) 1829/2003 and (EG) 1830/2003.


All of our adhesives do not contain:

  • Substances of very high concern (SVHC) listed on the ECHA website.
  • Carcinogenic, mutagenic or toxic for reproduction substances (CMR).
  • Substances of concern, e.g. epoxy derivatives, phthalates, bisphenol A, conflict minerals, PFAS substances.
  • Plastics that are designated as non-recyclable, e.g. materials that are on NestlĂ©'s negative list.
  • Hydrocarbons of concern, e.g. MOSH / MOAH or POSH / PAO.
  • Harmful, Toxic, or Organically Volatile Substances (VOCs).

Lebensmittelsicherheit bei Verpackungsklebstoffen

Intercol ist ein Klebstoffhersteller von vielen Klebstoffen, die in der Lebensmittelindustrie verwendet werden. In der Welt zur Herstellung von Verpackungsklebstoffen erfüllen wir die Anforderungen unserer Kunden an die Lebensmittelqualität, einige der von uns gelieferten Schmelzklebstoffe sind – BRC-zertifiziert.

Immer mehr Einzelhändler und Anbieter von Lebensmittelverpackungen verlangen von ihren Lieferanten eine Zertifizierung durch Dritte.

Der BRC-Standard unterstützt die Integrität unseres Polyolefin-Heißschmelzklebstoffsortiments und bietet den Vorteil, dass sie nach einem Lebensmittelhygienestandard hergestellt werden.

BRC Global Standard für Lebensmittelzertifizierung

  • Beste Praktiken zu fördern
  • Verbesserung der Lieferantenstandards und -konsistenz und Vermeidung von Produktfehlern
  • Eliminierung mehrfacher Audits von Lebensmittelherstellern
  • Unterstützung der Ziele des Einzelhandels auf allen Ebenen der Fertigungslieferkette
  • Bereitstellung prägnanter Informationen zur Unterstützung der Sorgfaltspflicht

EC/1935/2004 und 2023/2006/EC (GMP)

Das spezielle Sortiment an Klebstoffen für Lebensmittelverpackungen von Intercol kann sicher zur Herstellung von Lebensmittelverpackungsmaterialien gemäß den EU-Vorschriften zur Lebensmittelsicherheit verwendet werden.

Intercol erklärt hiermit, dass wir Lebensmittelverpackungsklebstoffe liefern können, die gemäß dem Rahmengesetz EC/1935/2004, einschließlich 2023/2006/EC (GMP) und allen seinen Änderungen hergestellt werden.

10/2011/EG, der so genannten Plastics Implementation Measure (PIM)

Intercol’s spezifisches Sortiment an Klebstoffen für Lebensmittelverpackungen wird nur mit Inhaltsstoffen formuliert, die der 10/2011/EG, der so genannten Plastics Implementation Measure (PIM) oder den BfR XIV oder XXXVI Vorschriften entsprechen. Intercol verfolgt die Änderungen und alle Ergänzungen dieser Vorschriften, um dies zu gewährleisten.

BfR XIV oder XXXVI

Worst-Case-Szenario-Berechnungen zeigen, dass die spezifischen Migrationsgrenzwerte (PIM) und Schwellenwerte (BfR) nicht überschritten werden, wenn diese speziellen Lebensmittelverpackungsklebstoffe bei der Herstellung von Lebensmittelverpackungen unter den vorgesehenen Verwendungsbedingungen eingesetzt werden.

Die lebensmittelechten Verpackungsklebstoffe von Intercol basieren auf Homopolymer- und Copolymer-Dispersionen auf Vinylacetatbasis mit <1000 ppm restlichem freien Vinylacetat. Der spezifische Migrationsgrenzwert für Vinylacetatmonomer in Verpackungen, die mit diesen Klebstoffen hergestellt werden, beträgt 12 mg/kg.

Zusätzlich zu den Vorschriften für Materialien mit Lebensmittelkontakt entspricht Intercol den REACH- und SVHC-Vorschriften. Keine bedenklichen Komponenten oder sogar SVHC, keine schädlichen oder nicht für den Lebensmittelkontakt zugelassenen Substanzen jeglicher Art werden in Intercol’s Sortiment an Verpackungsklebstoffen verwendet.

Intercol’s Klebstoffe für Lebensmittelverpackungen können sicher in der Verpackung von Lebensmittelmaterialien verwendet werden. Es liegt in der Verantwortung des Verarbeiters, sicherzustellen, dass der fertige Artikel den Vorschriften zur Lebensmittelsicherheit entspricht.

Sorgfältige Auswahl von lebensmittelechten Rohstoffen

Unser Polyolefin-Schmelzklebstoffsortiment, das unter Verwendung hochwertiger Rohstoffe und modernster Produktionsverfahren hergestellt wird, bietet ein Leistungsniveau, das das aller anderen Verpackungsklebstoffprodukte übertrifft. Unsere Heißschmelzklebstoffe bieten außerdem eine außergewöhnliche Vielseitigkeit und können mit fast allen Verpackungsmaschinen verwendet werden. Sie bieten eine sichere Haftung auf einigen der am schwierigsten zu verklebenden Oberflächen, einschließlich metallisierter Polyestermaterialien, PP-beschichteter, PET-laminierter, lackierter und hochdichter Pappe. Aber Schmelzklebstoffe sind perlweiß, rauchen nicht und sind praktisch geruchlos. Diese Eigenschaften bieten den Herstellern einzigartige Heißschmelzklebstofflösungen, die für eine Vielzahl von Verpackungsformaten und für die empfindlichsten und saugfähigsten Lebensmittel oder Pharmazeutika verwendet werden können.


Optimierte Klebstoff-Formulierungen

Unser Sortiment an Schmelzklebstoffen wurde so formuliert, dass die Leistung von Verpackungsklebstoffen auf ein neues Niveau gehoben wird. Technisch hochentwickelt und außergewöhnlich vielseitig, können die Schmelzklebstoffe von Intercol für Verpackungen mit den meisten Maschinen, Materialien und Packungsformaten verwendet werden.

Wir stellen auch Heißschmelzklebstoffe her, die speziell für den Einsatz in den anspruchsvollsten Anwendungen in den Bereichen Faltschachtelherstellung, Kartonversiegelung und Schalenformung entwickelt wurden. Darüber hinaus ist sich Intercol der Notwendigkeit bewusst, dass Verpackungen für den Gesundheits- und Pharmabereich sicher und manipulationssicher sein müssen, und liefert Klebstoffe, die eine außergewöhnliche Packungskonstruktion und Siegelfestigkeit bieten.

Entsprechenserklärung von Klebstoffe


Klebstoffe sind Gemische. Alle verwendeten Materialien und sonstigen zugelieferten Stoffe bzw. im Falle von Polymeren die entsprechenden Monomere sind registriert worden. Intercol B.V. erklärt hiermit, dass wir die Verpflichtungen der nachgeschalteten Anwender (EC) 1907/2006 für alle unsere Klebstoffe erfüllen. Alle unsere von Intercol hergestellten und vertriebenen Klebstoffe entsprechen der aktuellen europäischen Gesetzgebung, einschließlich ihrer Änderungen und Anhänge. Alle unsere Klebstoffe erfüllen diese:

  • REACh, (EG) 1907/2006.
  • CLP, (EC) 1272/2008.
  • RoHS, (EG) 2011/65.
  • PPW, (EC) 94/62.
  • BPR, (EU) 528/2012.
  • GVO, (EG) 1829/2003 und (EG) 1830/2003.


Alle unsere Klebstoffe enthalten keine:

  • Besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe (SVHC), die auf der ECHA-Website aufgeführt sind.
  • Krebserzeugende, erbgutverändernde oder fortpflanzungsgefährdende Stoffe (CMR).
  • Besorgniserregende Stoffe, z.B. Epoxyderivate, Phthalate, Bisphenol A, Konfliktminerale, PFAS-Stoffe.
  • Kunststoffe, die als nicht rezyklierbar bezeichnet werden, z.B. Materialien, die auf der Negativliste von Nestlé stehen.
  • Besorgniserregende Kohlenwasserstoffe, z.B. MOSH/MOAH oder POSH/PAO.
  • Schädliche, toxische oder organisch flüchtige Substanzen (VOCs).
de_DEGerman
de_DEGerman